I saw this on my Plurk time line today and I was wowed by it! A group of Tolkien fans have come together and created a fan fiction movie 40 minutes in length dealing Aragorn’s search for Gollum. In the Ring trilogy it’s only given a brief description so these people decided to write and film it for themselves. The website for the product is here :  http://www.thehuntforgollum.com/

Here are the trailers on Vimeo:

The production values are outstanding to say the least! In a way these fans remind me of how some in SL take fiction and create their own stories from it via Role Play. And they do it very cheaply too. A game based on a popular franchise cost hundreds of thousands if not millions of dollars to produce. An SL group will pay a minuscule fraction of that. Now compare “The Hunt for Gollum” produced for some $6,000 to the LOTR trilogy that cost millions. Wow, just wow.

I know where I will be the 3rd of May!

