While my personal relationships in SL have ranged from wonderful to awful there is one thing that has been constant in its ability to give me satisfaction. Running an online music station has been very gratifying in that I serve people who truly enjoy the music I share with them. From flea powered AM and FM transmitters that served my neighborhood to shout-casting to listeners all over the globe the dream of running a radio station has been fulfilled. Sadly it appears the future is clouded for internet radio. Where as terrestial stations pay no royalties and satellite radio (XM and Sirius) pay 7% of their Net income, internet radio / streaming may be priced out of business with onerous royalty rates. A stay of execution went into effect last summer but a final agreement has not been reached. Pandora radio has as much said they’d shut down because they cannot make enough money to pay the fees. It won’t be alone either as many web-casters big and small will fold. There is some doubt that hobby stations that use a co-op for reporting and paying fees will not survive either. One could go pirate, but hey, I don’t have 10’s of thousands of dollars lying around to pay fines and penalties. So as we go into fall I certainly hope an agreement is reach or my dream of being a broadcaster will die. Kinda sucks that we all may be reduced to listening to SKY-FM or the like and its box of 100 records. <shakes head>

Until then KONA Radio is proud to report that GoSpeed will be DJing at the Clocktower in Edloe every Wednesday night from 5-6pm SLT before Ladybird Xax’s gig of electronica at 6pm. GoSpeed will also be at Midnight Lotus THursday night between 6 and 8pm SLT Thursday night. Wear some pirate gear!
KONA Radio web header

Pffttt yeah, I need to get me some gigs too. But until then I’ll let GO have the fun while I dance with the ladies!
Rav and bela dancing

