Release Candidate Bug – Crash at start up

rav-photo-id.jpg

Seems a few people out there are having problems with the latest Release Candidate viewer. Things will go fine and then BAM! They are not able to log back in. When trying to log back in it will crash to desktop when you see “Initializing World”. This actually happened to two of my SL capable computers at the SAME TIME. Coincidence? Maybe, but the other machines in our household did not have that problem. (Yes I and the spouse have several computers. We hold onto the older ones as back-up).

An Uninstall and Reinstall did not work. The Linden Lab blog had nothing but I did find in the LL forums that some one did have a solution. They recommended uninstalling ALL instances of SL, deleting every folder that SL creates and editing the registry to remove all instances of Secondlife in it. Well I did that and it indeed worked. I tried it on my other computer and missed a step and it did not work. What did I miss? Well there is a folder that holds the user settings and it is chocked full of XML files and screenshots of your Home and Last Location when you log off. In Windows XP that folder is at: C:\Documents and Settings\USER NAME\Application Data\SecondLife . If you find yourself in the position where you can’t log in then try deleting that folder and launching SL again. My bet is that an XML file gets corrupted somehow preventing a successful login.

Since I’ve been a bit remiss in blogging lately here are some pics n’ stuff


You Are a Natural Flirt


Believe it or not, you’re a really effective flirt.

And you’re so good, you hardly notice that you’re flirting.

Your attitude and confidence make you a natural flirt.

And the fact that you don’t know it is just that more attractive!

I’m a natural flirt it seems :).
funky-dj-party.jpg
Things get “Funky Funky Funky” at last nights party in Sailors Cove.
Running a radio station and DJing  you notice that not every who can listen to you music is actually listening. While you cannot insist that everyone you see in your “coverage area” to listen it is yet another matter when you are playing music for a party. They are there to listen to the tunes and socialize. Last night I had 16 people on the dance floor but my software said that only 10 were listening. Some of those 10 were no doubt elsewhere on the grid or listening via the website. To see who was listening I got on the mic and said IM me if you hear my voice. Four people responded and I paid them $25L. I shared this with a friend and station sponsor who offered my a big prize to hand out. I got back in chat and told the audience to be listening as I was going to hold another contest in 30 minutes and a new prize was to be awarded. Time ticked by and the listener count began to rise. I continued to tease the contest in chat and on the microphone and when the time came I said “5th person to IM me gets $2500L”. Congrats to Kendal Timeless for being a true fan!
Really, if you’re going to be at a party then at least tune in the music. If the music is not to your liking then why are you there? Seems you are going to miss out on half of the fun of being there. It might cost you too!
 Listen to KONA Radio for some good tunes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
sailors-cove-google-calendar-on-a-prim.jpg
YAY! Google Calendars on a prim! click for a larger pic.
Rav
