….saying something stupid like…

Pondering

Having been a “black” avatar for about 11 months I had never experienced overt racism or comments that could be deemed insensitive, until tonight. Considering the events leading up to what was said the comments were not racist but something stupid and poorly chosen. I was with a friend at a club and remarked on a female skin I had seen earlier at a Mardi Gras event. The shading on the backside was a bit intense and suggested something “nasty”. We had our little chuckle about my observation and the conversation moved on. We then discussed how my friend had found an SL “twin” and that conversely my avatar was fairly unique:

[18:49]  Friend: i dont know who the heck she was
[18:49]  Friend: but it was kind of uncanny
[18:50]  You: Never seen anyone come close to me 🙂
[18:50]  Friend: no go
[18:50]  Friend: you are an original
[18:50]  Some guy: that’s cuz they won’t go near that butt streak skin

At that point I was pissed and angry. It looked like he compared my skin tone to a filthy backside. The anger passed quickly and the words just made me sick. OK, I’m sure he didn’t mean it in a crude, rascist way but on face value it sure  felt that way. I could well imagine how a black person could feel slighted by that kind of comment. One would think in this day and age people would be more careful about the words they choose. One thing I’ve learned in my 40 plus years is that once words are spoken you can never take them back, so please, choose them carefully.

Go

