YAY!(yay!)
YAY!(yay)!

You’ve seen it all over the grid at concerts, clubs, shopping malls. The text implies a great excitement but the audio is pure droll. Yup, it’s YAY!(yay!). A modest but low key yay followed by a defeated sounding one. It’s not too bad as far as gestures go. I’d rather hear it than that damn howl, woot or hoo. But how did it spread? lets go back to June of 2007………..

It started on the 21st of June at an event at Grizzy’s Cafe when Industria Dowler was showing off some of her gestures. I heard the YAY and had to have it. I took it back with me and began to use it like crazy back at the Sailors Cove estate. Soon people like Cher Harrington and Yxes Delacroix were using it on a constant basis. And from there it grew as the 3 of us and people like Ravishal and Grizzy spread it everywhere they went. Every concert we went to or social event we used it and handed it out. My goodness it is everywhere now. I even heard it at the Last Call sale this past weekend.

So hats off to Hello Toonie for creating one of the more memorable gestures to sweep the grid!

