konasign01.jpeg

Friday the 12th of October will mark 1 year of broadcasting in Second Life for me. At some point we all find our niche here and mine was broadcasting music. Previously I had dabbled in shoutcasting with a couple of streams when I first got DSL but I never bothered with an external server. In May of 2004 I began to broadcast in the real world with some low power Ramsey kits on FM and AM. I perhaps got out a kilometer or so with some decent antennas. My transmitters still run today filling my yard and most of the neighborhood with my music.

Venturing into Second Life I mostly heard canned and stuffy commercial stations Like Sky FM or Club 977. Talk about tight playlist! Sheesh, if it wasn’t a number one in the charts you didn’t hear it. That changed when I discovered the Mowry Bay Yacht Club in June 2006. The club owner Saxxon Domela streamed his own music into Second Life “The Rock of Mowry Bay”. I was almost there. I had a station already running but lacked the funds to procure a shoutcast stream.

In September 2006 my partner and her friend began to work in the East End sims (now known as SLNE). They had a stream that was only used a few hours a week for artist and a DJ. I offered my services for a nominal fee and signed on 12 October 2006. The name East End Radio was chosen after the name of the estate. My relations with the sim owner were at times contentious. It seems that her idea of good music varied from mine. Sometimes she would commandeer the stream and spin her own tunes (while sipping copious amounts of alcohol). Invariably with the exception for the random Britney Spears or Avril Lavigne song I had every song she played in my collection. During that time I did work a lot to quell her concerns as to the apparent randomness of my music. With the helpful suggestions of Gwen, Gayle, and Diana I devised a rotation to separate the up tempo, slow tempo and “oddball” songs into their own blocks to give a sense of consistency.

As time went on I learned a bit more and had fun getting on the microphone and holding impromptu events. It was stifling knowing I could only be heard in the East End sims so I handed the URL out to a few friends and it was well received in Hukilau. Ha Ha, take that B.C.! My station even charted in the shoutcast ratings list, not too far below Phreak and T1 Radio. One of my favorite duties I took on was Master of Ceremonies at the Nantucket Theater. When an artist like Louis Volare or Kori Travanti came to perform I would get on stage, crack open the mic and introduce them. That was so cool!

However things do change and East End Radio came to an abrupt end in February… More about this and it’s relaunch as KONA Radio in my next installment.

Rav

